Yashwantrao Chavan National Award is awarded to the individuals for their remarkable contribution to society and for safeguarding democratic values in our nation. The award given in memory of Late Yashwantrao Chavan, consists of Rs.5 Lakhs along with a certificate.

For selecting the awardees a committee is formed under the chairmanship of Dr.Anil Kakodkar.

This committee includes

  • Dr. Armaity Desai - Former Chairperson, of UGC
  • Dr.Raghunath Mashelkar - Eminent Scientist and Former Director - General of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research
  • Dr. Rupa Shah - Former Vice Chancellor - SNDT University
  • Dr.Rajan Welukar - Former Vice-Chancellor - Mumbai University.

Yashwantrao Chavan National Award was conferred to the following individuals :-

Dr. Soumya Swaminathan
Azim Premji
Dr. Renu Swaroop
Mr. Vivek Sawant
Dr. Abhijit Banerjee
Dr. Raghuram Rajan
M. M. Sharma
Mr. Nandan Nelikeni
Dr. Vijay Kelkar
Mr. Ratan Tata
Mr. Zubin Mehta
Dr. E. Sridharan
Air Chief Marshal - Shri. Arjan Singh
Smt. Mahashweta Devi
Prof. Yash Pal
ISRO - (Indian Space Research Organization)
Mr. R. K. Pachauri and Mrs. Saroj Pachauri
Mr. Narayan Murthy and Mrs. Sudha Murthy
Mr. Sam Pitroda
Justice. V. R. Krishna Iyer
Mr. R. K. Laxman
Dr. Jayant Narlikar
Dr. V. Kurien
Mr. Sunderlal Bahuguna
Mrs. Avabai Wadia
Mrs. Ela Bhat
Dr. C. Subramanyam
Late Biyant Singh
Prof. Madhu Dandawate